ASM - Western Australia

Past Travel Award winners

2019 Student Travel Award winners

Four applicants (Sicilia Perumalsamy, Lisa Stinson, Amreeta Sarjit and Korakrit Imwattana) were shortlisted for ASM 2019 Travel Awards. The winners were:

ASM Nancy Millis Student Award: Lisa Stinson (UWA)

The not-so-sterile womb: evidence that the human fetus is exposed to bacteria prior to birth

ASM WA Branch Travel Award: Amreeta Sarjit (Curtin)

Multidrug-resistant Salmonella isolated in Australia harbour an IncHI2 conjugative plasmid similar to that from a Salmonella strain isolated in Canada




 2018 Student Travel Award winners

Six applicants were shortlisted for consideration for student travel awards to attend ASM 2018 in Brisbane. 

ASM Nancy Millis Student Award (formerly BD Travel Award): Nicole Bzdyl (UWA)

Folding your way to greater pathogenicity; the role of cyclophilins in Burkholderia pseudomallei virulence

ASM WA Branch Travel Award: Stacey Hong (UWA)

Phenotypic and genotypic characterisation of ribotype 251 strains of Clostridium difficile causing severe disease in the Australian community

29744795 10100180829333734 436242807355025508 o

29662663 10100180829453494 4124621760068651906 o


2017 Student award winners

BD Travel Award for WA: Shakeel Mowlaboccus (UWA)

Whole-genome Sequencing Reveals a New Cluster of Penicillin-resistant Serogroup W Neisseria meningitidis in Western Australia

WA Branch Travel Award: Su Chen Lim (UWA)

Antimicrobial susceptibility of Clostridium difficile isolates from food, compost and lawn, collected in Western Australia from 2015 to 2016

 19665101 10100123201141094 526708056791315422 n

2017 BD Travel Award winner Shakeel Mowlaboccus presents at the BD Award session in Hobart

2016 Student Travel Award winners

One travel award was granted in 2016.

BD Travel Award for WA: Daniel Knight (UWA)

Microevolutionary analysis of Clostridium difficile PCR ribotype 014 lineage in Australian porcine and humans reveals signatures of long-range intra- and inter-species transmission 

IMG 20160705 WA00071

Daniel Knight presenting in the BD Award session at ASM 2016 in Perth

2015 Student award winners

BD Travel Award for WA: Lucy Furfaro (UWA) 

In vitro activity of solithromycin and metabolites, CEM-214 and N-Acetyl-CEM-101, against 100 clinical Ureaplasma spp. isolates

WA Branch Travel Award: Shakeel Mowlaboccus (UWA)

Molecular Epidemiology and Antigen Profiling of Neisseria meningitidis in Western Australia from 2000 to 2014

2014 Student award winners

BD Travel Award for WA: Amir Mohammed Hassan (UWA)

Whole genome sequencing and bacteriophages of Moraxella catarrhalis

WA Branch Travel Award: Nikki Man (UWA)

Investigations into the Biological Mode of Action of Novel Antibacterial Compounds

2012 Student award winners

BD Travel Award for WA: Susannah Piek (UWA)

Resistance to Cationic Antimicrobial Peptides is Determined by Oxidoreductases in Neisseria meningitidis

WA Branch Travel Award: Janessa Pickering (UWA)

Development of a Real Time PCR (RT-PCR) Assay for the Selective Detection of Haemophilus haemolyticus, the Respiratory Tract Commensal Frequently Misidentified as Nontypeable Haemophilus influenzae (NTHi)